Fathers’ Rights

A Chicago Blog

The Fall From Humility

Posted by madcap on February 16, 2008

After I posted the articles on Intelligent Design I sure received a rise in traffic, but man, what a waste of time. It is truly sad that conversations turn into personal attacks so fast. When I woke up the following morning I felt so dirty. How the possibility of there being a God became so ridiculous I just don’t know.

One of the first signs of attaining some small amount of wisdom, is when we begin to realize just how much we don’t know. We sit on this small blue ball, like ants on a dirt hill. We can’t even get past our own moon, yet we think that we are masters of the universe.

That’s the story in the garden. Pride is the gateway to sin. Our arrogance and pride. I know that it’s gotten me in trouble more than once. Humility is a hard thing. I think that when I pray, I ask most for forgiveness for my pride, and to seek more humility.

It’s a good thing that we can’t think our way into heaven. Sure, the name of my blog is Thoughts on God, but that is all they are; thoughts. The real deal is when I get on my knees before The Creator. And then when I stand back up, I need to remember to hold to humility.

In the end, I have to accept that I can only know in part, for now, until that day comes when I will breath my last, part from this world, and then see face to face.

Leave a Reply

 
